Pleasant

I asked my date how he can describe our lunch yesterday at 3:00 in the afternoon after a hellish day at work.  And he said, it was “pleasant.”

pad thai
simply thai, greenbelt makati

Oh well, I loved it.

There’s the perfect noodle dish which is my favorite in thai noodle dish–“pad thai”.  My date happened to live in Thailand for 4 years (if I remember it right :).  I always eat noodles with him recently and he treats me to eat noodles when we have “the moment” (if you know what I mean).  We’re both matured enough (whatever that means) to just sit and eat together and just have fun having conversation and watching each other how we eat and share spoon eating coconut ice cream.  How’s that for the meaning of “matured enough.” 😉

Oh, I’m not yet that good at storytelling since I’m the type who savor and relish the moment at the moment it is happening.  But I can only share how “pleasant” that was with this picture.

One of the best things about this lunch date is that we’re supposed to eat at Oody’s, one of my favorite restaurants.  Even though it’s already late and my man is obviously drooling in hunger inside, before we parked the car, I asked him if it’s ok if we look for another noodle restaurant because I might just loose my appetite for Oody’s since we always eat there.  And since he loves me (that’s what he said), even with a little bit of disappointment, after we parked the car in Greenbelt mall and got off, we wandered a little and we saw Japanese restaurants and he was asking me if I want there and I keep on saying no s0o we walked a little more and voila! We saw Simply Thai.  One like Oody’s but this is high end than Oody’s.  He was patient with me.

We looked at the menu stand outside the Restaurant before we went in.  Perfect, I saw Pad thai and asked the waitress who assisted us if that is spicy and she said not so but we can adjust its spiciness with the condiments. Really perfect because I like toying with condiments with chillies in my food to adjust to my limit of eating spicy things.

The pad thai, whose flat noodles was cooked just fine and presented as palatable as it is in my eyes, to my surprise has a different look of its egg net, the dish’s signature.  I looked into it and I assume the scrambled egg net has melted cheese with it making it really look like a wire.  The pad thai I usually eat at Oody’s also in Greenbelt 3, Makati, the egg net doesn’t have cheese so it’s soft unlike here in Simply Thai, the net wrap look stronger, thick, and look like a melted nougat.  Simply Thai Restaurant is in Greenbelt 5, Makati City, one of the posh cities in the Philippines.  It’s not that I’m into posh things but I happen to like the food there or wherever there are spicy noodle dish and other Asian food especially Singaporean food.

Aside from the pad thai is the Chilli Squid O’s, our appetizer.  It is like Calamares, breaded squid rings, only the dip is uniquely mashed eggplant and green chillies with vinegar.  It was really delicious for an appetizer  .  After eating a few of the squid, I cut the pad thai with a knife to get some and he put some in my plate.  That’s one of the best things about eating with a man, I like it when they put food on my plate.  It makes me feel special of course but more than that it gives me a sense of security.  I like it when they behave as a gentleman.  It makes the world so beautiful.

The thing about him, he knows how to handle me.  I’m sensitive, too picky, really a pain in the ass when I’m not in the mood.  I’m glad he can always be a gentleman with me even if I’m not…I don’t know the term, maybe being sensitive.  But his term for it is that I’m delicate.

When I asked him to have the dessert served before he goes to the restroom, he makes sure what I need is attended right there and then.  It’s not that he treats me like a royal princess, he treats me with dignity, with pride and with sincerity.  We talked and talked and talked.. We chatted, exchanging caress, hugs, leaning on his shoulder, my arm around his shoulder looking in his mobile phone after taking photos of the food..

Now I know what he means by “pleasant.”

Leave a Reply

